A Collection of Old Pakistani Currency Notes

Pakistani Rupee is the official currency of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Sign of Pakistani Rupee is "Rs" and code is "PKR". State Bank of Pakistan is responsible for issuance and control of national currency. The rupee is also referred to as Rupaya and Rupaye. Its subunit is Paisa which is 100th part of a rupee. 

Here is a huge collection of old Pakistani currency notes. Also, currency notes which were printed by Reserve Bank of India with photos of British King. Year of issuance or its validity period is also given with all currency notes. Other details e.g. image of which place or building, is also mentioned where necessary.

Rupiya is derived from Sanskrit word Rupya which means a coin of Silver. Historically, the first Rupee currency was introduced by King Sher Shah Suri in the 16th century. Now currencies of Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Mauritius, Seychelles, Maldives and Indonesia are called Rupee. In the near past, currencies of Afghanistan and Burma were also called Rupee.

Recommended for You:

Notes issued pre-1971 were in Urdu, Bengali and English but after separation of Bangladesh, Pakistani Rupee has only Urdu and English text.

Initially, Indian coins and currency notes were used by Pakistan, simply over-stamped with "Government of Pakistan. These notes have an image of George VI King Emporer on the front side and printed by Reserve Bank of India. Examples of these notes are given below.

1 Rupee Note (1947-48) featuring King George VI

2 Rupees Currency Note (1947)

5 Rupees Note

10 Rupees Note

100 Rupees Note (1947-48)

All currency notes printed by Government of Pakistan have only images of Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Founder of Pakistan.

1 Pakistani Rupee Currency Note 

Below are some notes of 1 Rupee.
Re. 1 featuring Lahore Fort

Re. 1 (1973)

1 Rupee (1953-63)

1 Rupee featuring Minar-e-Pakistan (1975-81)

1 Rupee (1983) featuring Allama Iqbal Tomb

2 Pakistani Rupees Currency Note

2 Rupees (1986) - Badshahi Masjid, Lahore

PKR 5 Currency Note

First Rs. 5 Currency Note issued by Government of Pakistan in 1948

5 Rupees (1972-78)

5 Rupees (issued in 1997 on 50 years Golden Jubilee) featuring Tomb of Baha ud Din Zakariya

5 Rupees (1975-84) - Khajak Tunnel

Currency Note of PKR 10

10 Rupees (1953) - Shalimar Garden

10 Rupees (1957) - Shalimar Garden

10 Rupees (1973)

10 Rupees (1970) - For Hajj Pilgrims from Pakistan, For Use in Saudi Arabia 

10 Rupees (1957) - For Hajj Pilgrims from Pakistan, For Use in Saudi Arabia 

10 Rupees (1986) - View of Mohenjodaro

Rupees 50 Note

50 Rupees (1957)

50 Rupees (1981) - Lahore Fort

Rupees 100 Currency Note

100 Rupees (1953)

100 Rupees (1973) - Badshahi Masjid

100 Rupees

100 Rupees (1975) - Islamia College Peshawar

Pak Rupees 500 Currency Note

500 Rupees 

500 Rupees (1986) - State Bank Building Karachi

Pak Rupees 1000 Currency Note

1000 Rupees (1987) - Tomb of Shah Jehangir

Now new notes of Rs.10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 are in circulation while there are coins of Rs.1, 2 and 5.
Previous Post Next Post