Complete details of CSS Exam of FPSC

What is CSS?

The Central Superior Services or CSS is used for bureaucracy in Pakistan. It is the biggest competitive examination of Pakistan for recruiting bureaucrats. It is an examination for the appointment on posts at officer entry-level (BPS-17) in all the civil service departments. People who successfully passed this competitive exam, are offered to join a government office as a Gazetted CSS Officer in BPS-17. The highest attainable rank for these officers is BPS-22. CSS Officers are responsible for running the civil bureaucratic operations through government secretariats and directorates of the Cabinet of Pakistan. 
It is also often called CSP (Civil Services of Pakistan).
A candidate must hold at least a Bachelor degree in any faculty of one of the Pakistani Universities or an equivalent degree of a foreign University to apply for the CSS examination.

What is FPSC?

CSS exams are conducted and supervised by the Federal Public Service Commission or FPSC. Its headquarter is in Islamabad.

When CSS Examination held?

CSS exams are held at the start of every year in the entire country.

What is the fee for CSS exam?

The current fee is Rs. 1000/.

What is the Passing Ratio?

The CSS exam is extremely competitive and the ratio of successful candidates is very very less.

How many subjects do I need to choose?

There is a total of 1200 marks. Subjects worth 600 marks are compulsory while you will have to choose optional subjects worth 600 marks.

What are the Passing Criteria?

Out of the 1200 marks for written test, a candidate must obtain at least 40% marks in compulsory subjects and 33% marks in optional subjects while 50% marks in aggregate in order to pass the written test.

What is the Selection Procedure?

After qualifying the written examination, candidates will be called for Medical examination, Psychological Tests and Viva Voce.
A total of 300 marks are allocated for psychological test and viva voce. A psychological test is designed to assess the abilities, attitude and personality characteristics of the candidate.
Then a candidate who qualifies in the written examination will be medically examined by a Medical Board. 

How many attempts can I make?

One can make three (03) attempts for the CSS exam.

Whether females are eligible for the CSS?

Yes, females are eligible.

Departments for CSS Officers

After passing the CSS examination, on merit basis, you are selected for one of the occupational groups. Irrespective of religion, color, creed and ethnics, successful candidates are posted in any of the following twelve different departments: 
  1. Pakistan Customs Services (PCS) 
  2. Pakistan Administrative Service (PAS) District Management Group or DMG 
  3. Police Service of Pakistan (PSP) 
  4. Foreign Service of Pakistan (FSP) 
  5. Inland Revenue Service of Pakistan (IRS) 
  6. Commerce & Trade Group (PCG) 
  7. Information Services of Pakistan (ISP) 
  8. Military Lands & Cantonment Group (MLCG) 
  9. Office Management and Secretariat Group (OMG) 
  10. Pakistan Audit and Accounts Service (PA&AS) 
  11. Postal Group (PG) 
  12. Railways (Commercial & Transport) Group (RCTG) 

CSS Test and Interview Center

Following are test centers:
  1. DI Khan
  2. Gilgit
  3. Islamabad
  4. Karachi
  5. Lahore
  6. Multan
  7. Peshawar
  8. Quetta
  9. Skardu
  10. Sukkur
While federal capital and all the four provincial capitals are also interview centers.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post