Pakistan Civil Awards and Medals

Civil Awards of Pakistan were established in 1957. These awards are bestowed to the people who have done outstanding services for Pakistan.

In December, the ministries and their divisions are invited to recommend candidates to the Cabinet Division. Received nominations are considered by awards committees after which final nominations are sent to the President for final approval. After the President's approval, Announcement of these civil awards is generally made on Independence Day of Pakistan (14th August) every year, and the ceremony for honoring the awardees with awards takes place on the following Pakistan Day (23 March). President of Pakistan confers civil awards on Pakistani citizens in recognition of gallantry. 

Disclaimer: "Above image is free to copy, redistribute etc."

The Pride of Performance, Order of Bravery (Nishan e Shujaat) and Order of Excellence (Nishan e Imtiaz) are for Pakistani citizens only, but the remaining awards are open to all for eminence and outstanding services to Pakistan in a significant field of activity.


The Civil Awards comprise five orders, each with four sub-categories: Nishan (Order‎), Hilal (Crescent‎), Sitara (Star‎) and Tamgha (Medal‎), as follows: 

Award sets
Order of Priority
Nishan-e-Pakistan (Order of Pakistan)
Nishan-e-Shujaat (Order of Bravery)
Nishan-e-Imtiaz (Order of Excellence)
Nishan-e-Quaid-i-Azam (Order of Quaid-i-Azam)
Nishan-e-Khidmat (Order of Service)

Hilal-e-Pakistan (Crescent of Pakistan)
Hilal-e-Shujaat (Crescent of Bravery)
Hilal-e-Imtiaz (Crescent of Excellence)
Hilal-e-Quaid-i-Azam (Crescent of Quaid-i-Azam)
Hilal-e-Khidmat (Crescent of Service)

Sitara-e-Pakistan (Star of Pakistan)
Sitara-e-Shujaat (Star of Bravery)
Sitara-e-Imtiaz (Star of Excellence)
Sitara-e-Quaid-i-Azam (Star of The Great Leader)
Sitara-e-Khidmat (Star of Service)

Tamgha-e-Pakistan (Medal of Pakistan)
Tamgha-e-Shujaat (Medal of Bravery)
Tamgha-e-Imtiaz (Medal of Excellence)
Tamgha-e-Quaid-i-Azam (Medal of Quaid-i-Azam)
Tamgha-e-Khidmat (Medal of Service)

Nishan-e-Pakistan (Order of Pakistan)

Nishan-e-Pakistan is the highest civil awards of Pakistan. It is highly restricted and most prestigious civil award in Pakistan.

Hilal-e-Pakistan (Crescent of Pakistan)

It stands second in the hierarchy of civilian awards.

Sitara-e-Pakistan (Star of Pakistan)

It stands third in the hierarchy of civilian awards.

Tamgha-e-Pakistan (Medal of Pakistan)

It stands fourth in the hierarchy of civilian awards.

The President's Award for Pride of Performance (Tamgha-e-Ḥusn-e-Karkardagi)

Awards for Pride of Performance are conferred by the President of Pakistan for outstanding achievements in the fields of art, literature, science, sports and nursing.

Police Medals

There are two categories of Police medals for police personnel;

  • Quaid-i-Azam Police Medal (QPM)
  • President Police Medal
These awards are also granted by President of Pakistan on the recommendation of provincial governments and other concerned departments.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post